Skip to main content

PHRF Committee

The YRALIS Performance Handicap Racing Fleet (PHRF) committee creates handicaps that are based on the speed potential of a sailing yacht, determined on observations of the yacht's previous observed racing performance. In reviewing new yachts, the handicap committee will compare the new yacht to other vessels that they are familiar with and are comparable in specifications to the vessel being rated. The committee, from time to time, will look for boats of the same type, based on sail area to displacement ratios and then make adjustments based on the differences to the new yacht. If available, designer's comments, IRC certificates or other handicaps will be used in quantifying the yacht's speed potential. In addition, handicappers might look to see if a similar model of the new boat has raced in another PHRF area. The handicap can then be adjusted, based on deltas from the other area & the YRALIS. The difficult part of handicapping a sailboat is qualifying of the racing program of the boat. Just because a boat finishes last all the time or, on the other hand, wins many races, does not necessarily mean that the handicap is wrong. The YRALIS has currently over two thousand sailing yachts rated. This comprehensive list, along with the variety of of persons from the sailing industry & vast experience in yacht racing, have created a PHRF list of ratings respected all over the country.

 

                                                                                                                                                     2014 PHRF Committee

 

Area 7: Richard Royce, CHAIR

rroyce@webb.edu

 

Area 8: Robert Kendrick

rkendri2@optonline.net

Area 2:  William Baxter

wjbaxer1@comcast.net

 

Area 2: Jeff Ohstrom

jgohstrom@gmail.com

Area 8:  Matt Berger

aberger@suffolk.lib.ny.us

 

Area 3:  Mark Ploch

markploch@doyleplochsails.com

Area 1:  Tom Castiglione

Tom.Castiglione@NorthSails.com

 

Area 8:  Charles Powers

charles.powers.yra@gmail.com

Area 5:  Richie Coar

chaika@pipeline.com

 

HRYRA:  George Samalot

george@samalotmarine.com

Area 1:  Rich Gold

turningpt@aol.com

 

Area 2:  Richard Sinclair

ricksinclair21728@hotmail.com

 

Area 8:  June Kendrick

jkendric@optonline.net

 

Area 2:  Andrew Weiss

andrew@flintlocklic.com