Skip to main content




Do you remember the days when sailing was a family affair? Do you remember when it was OK to camp out on the boat during Block Island Race Week? DO you remember when getting two races in on a single day was a very big deal?  Do you remember when spouses and kids were a normal part of the crew? Do you remember then it was OK to ask the crew to chip in for housing or, heaven forbid, buy their own drink bracelets….When the subject of growing our sport comes up in conversation (and it frequently does), I always think back to when I, along with a dozen teenage friends, fell in love with big-boat sailing. We all loved being on water, but we also loved the social scene when the sailing day was over.  Not one of us would ever miss an event.  MORE


YRALIS has launched its own FACEBOOK page.  For those with a 
FACEBOOK account, type 
The Yacht Racing Association of Long Island Sound
in the Search bar and LIKE US!

For those of you without a FACEBOOK account, either talk to 
those younger crew who seem to know how to do everything and 
have them help you.  Alternatively, Google FACEBOOK and click on Help.


Click here to go to the YRA FACEBOOK page


More and more races are sponsoring Double-Handed divisions for both short and long distance races. And with each boat only needing two people we could theoretically grow the number of entrants many fold. Stamford Yacht Club even has a weekend regatta just for us. My advice to anyone considering double-handing is to give it a try. You may get hooked just like I did.



Hahn and Russell Win The Queen’s Cup - Trophy stays at American YC for Fifth Consecutive Year

On July 12th, women and girls took to the waters south of AYC to compete in this year’s Long Island Sound Sailing Championship. The Queen’s Cup, a YRA event sailed in Ideal 18s, is open to all amateur yachtswomen who are at least 18 years of age.


2014 Taylor Trophy

The 2014 YRALIS Match Racing Championship for the Taylor Trophy has a winner. The team of Chris Johannessen and Wes Bemus,(7 wins) Cedar Point YC, beat Jonathan Hammond and Madeline Gill, Oakcliff Sailing Center in the last race of the day. Third was Benjamin Gent and Chris Bigos, New York YC. Both Hammond and Gent had 5 wins each but the tie-breaker went to Hammond. The day brought many surprises with predictions of who might win dashed as the racing continued. David Storrs, Pequot YC, won this event in 2012 and there was no race in 2013. Sailed in Ideal 18 at Larchmont YC, the competition was the best ever for the Taylor Trophy, thanks to Dave Perry who held a match racing clinic the day before at LYC.

A special shout out to Cynthia Parthemos, PRO, Larchmont YC, John May, LYC Race Committee Chair, and Larchmont YC. Also thanks to Bill Simon, Oakcliff Sailing Center, Chief Umpire, with his team of Bill Siener, Ron Stattel, Sue Reilly, Bam Miller, Kyra Goldsmith, Michael Quaglio and Danielle Gallo. Finally, thanks to the Taylor Trophy committee: Andrea Watson, Cynthia Parthemos, David Storrs and Doug Shannon! Many hours were spent by all the above to make this regatta a huge success. Thank you...thanks... merci

Final Results: 1.Chris Johannessen, 2. Jon Hammond, 3. Benjamin Gent, 4. Doug Wefer, Sea Cliff YC, 5. Derek Webster, Larchmont YC, 6. David Storrs, Pequot YC, 7. Doug Shannon, Oakcliff Sailing Center, 8. Bahar Gidwani, Mamaroneck Frostbite Association.

For photos of the event, taken by Andrea Watson, please click HERE

Syndicate content